Being A Leader Without Followers

October 16, 2013 — 11 Comments

Difference

I look at being a leader from a totally different place than most people.

From my point of view, being a leader is when you’re able to know what you know and follow what you know regardless of whether anybody else goes along. It doesn’t exclude anyone, because anyone can come along—IF THEY CHOOSE IT.

That’s what being a leader is from my point of view.

In this reality to be a leader you must have followers. I totally disagree. My point of view is that in order to be a leader you must lead yourself, and if anybody else follows because you’ve got such a brilliant idea, no problem. But if you’re truly being a leader you will empower them to know what they know, not simply get them to try to follow you.

This is a totally different concept in leadership. For me, that’s what’s required if we’re going to change tracks on the planet right now.

Being a leader is being willing to step into what you know and follow it. It’s really that simple. It’s about having a sense of trust in you and your knowing, even when that
knowing doesn’t match other people’s points of view.

– Dain Heer

PS – You’re invited to join me for a special event, November 5, for only $100 USD, in Stockholm or Online! http://drdainheer.com/beingaleader/

11 responses to Being A Leader Without Followers

  1. 

    This is awesomely timely for me! Thank you, Dain. 🙂

  2. 

    Awesome and I know this for me too. Thanks for sharing so beautifully..I appreciate you, Dain. 🙂

  3. 

    Thank you for all your contributions Dain!

  4. 
    Deborah Belcher October 17, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    Beautifully expressed! I’d like to post this on my web site, giving you credit of course, Dain – is that ok?

  5. 

    Dain, dude you rock! I have always felt I was a leader with little to no followers. That is beginning to change, since I discovered my purpose but it’s been rough road trying to fit into the paradigms of this reality that don’t play in a way that has ever made sense to me. I learned a long time ago to fake it till you feel it. Well truth is I never felt in alignment with much (until now) and I got way sick of faking it and smiling through the painful discord of it all. Honestly, I have never heard anyone lay it on the line and pinpoint the truth as you do, and all with such ease. You are fulfilling your purpose here. It is so apparent to me. I hope that it plays out, as such for my purpose as well. Thank you so very much for being you!! The Cleanfood Advocate

  6. 

    One of the mantras I use to bring myself back to myself, releasing a need to try to “convince” others to do things my way, is: I am a beacon, not a bludgeon. 😀

  7. 

    Up until now have had the image of leading with no followers and then looking round to see no followers and thinking “oops – must have got it wrong” Been busy dissolving all points of view around that and guess what – have many more followers. Lol! Thanks Dain, you’re a star.

  8. 

    I’m enjoying this concept…leading by empowering others to know what they know…Brilliant! 🙂

  9. 

    I love the “beacon, not bludgeon” saying…
    The inner self esteem must be solid to enjoy the event you lead to, without followers….or with them.
    “to thine own self be true”

  10. 

    Beautifully said. And as much as I agree with what Dain says, I also feel like that definition is more similar to that of a pioneer…

    A beautiful quote on leadership that has always stayed in my heart is by Lao Tse: “A leader is best when people barely know he exists, when his work is done, his aim fulfilled, they will say: we did it ourselves.”

Leave a Reply

