Your Elusive Creative Genius

February 10, 2014 — 3 Comments

What would you choose if you knew you could not fail?

What if creativity and suffering is not inherently linked?

What if success is not a death sentence for creativity?

Would you be willing to consider a different point of view?

If so…watch this funny and brilliant Ted X presentation by “Eat, Pray, Love” Author Elizabeth Gilbert.

What if your job, my friend, is just…to SHOW UP?

3 responses to Your Elusive Creative Genius

  1. 

    I was part of a performance once which reminds me very much of your sacred dancer. Our church concert band was to perform each day for a week long convention. All of the music was coming along fine except one piece–a composition by our conductor which should have been great, but which instead simply lay there and stank. We put it off as long as possible. We rehearsed, we practiced individually, but it still lay there like a dead fish on the beach. Technically it was wonderful, but it lacked that one particular indefinable element which would raise it up to that higher plane.

    We met before the speeches began on that fateful day for a minute of silence before our performance. I know we were all praying. Some that it would somehow transform, and others that we could somehow disappear from the face of the earth as an alternative option.

    At the given time, we filed onto the stage, took our places and raised our instruments to begin. And at that moment, a swirling energetic force swept across the stage. I felt something like a mild electrical tingle sweep across me as the conductor raised his baton.

    And the sound we produced, the music we played earned a standing ovation. It was the most beautiful piece we’d played during the entire week. The missing element swept across the stage and infused all of us with the energy we needed to make this one piece perfect.

    Call it God, call it whatever you like. I know it is there and so do all the people who were on that stage. We were held in thrall after the performance. None of us wanted to break the spell we still felt once the baton dropped to the podium, not even the conductor. The look of absolute disbelief combined with rapture was on everyone’s face as we wondered exactly what had happened in the space of those few minutes.

    Happy writing to you. I’m working on my next novel, also, and struggling with my genius, who at the moment is more an idiot savant. Heavy on the idiot, light on the savant…

  2. 
    Monique O--Canada February 10, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    As I viewed the Ted talk by Elizabeth Gilbert, I felt a connection to this creative being. I had repeated thoughts like ‘omg! I’m like that. I’m not the only one who thinks this way. I wish she was my best friend and I could talk with her about this in person. I don’t feel understood, and I feel so alone in the way I think.’

    When the video was done, I felt like weeping, and I felt like getting up and writing. ‘Just get up and do it Monique. Do it now!’ but then I sat back down again and said to myself, ‘but the dishes and floor need washing. I’m behind on the laundry, and I haven’t taken the time to eat or exercise this morning. Maybe later…’ Yes, that’s how pathetic I feel like my life is. My dreams, my desires, are always put off to later.

    I’m struggling with finding my way and nurturing myself and my dreams. When my children were toddlers, I wrote children’s books but never sent them out to publishers. I told myself that I would have time to write when they were older. And then, I started a 2nd family, and the cycle repeated itself. I had this strong desire to write and tell my stories. (I decided I preferred romance, and more recently, a book about depression and my struggles with it for most of my 45 years of life). But I was so caught up with the everyday chores of raising a family–2 teens and 2 toddlers. The teens are now adults, and the toddlers are now teens, and I’m still spinning in these circles of feeling resentment and frustration for not having enough time to nurture my soul-work. For not having enough money to pay someone else to do this never-ending life-sucking, tedious repetitive ‘stuff’ that needs to be done in order to have a home and provide for my family. I’m sick of it all and yet I can’t seem to break this painful cycle.

    Thank you for sharing this video. It stirred up so many emotions that need to be looked at and taken care of.

  3. 

    Thank you so much for bringing to my attention this wonderfully, funny, entertaining, inspiring, joyful video! It made me cry!

    Much gratitude

    Donna

Leave a Reply

