Is your body a gift or a problem?

November 25, 2014 — 3 Comments

How much of your life have you spent at war with your body? Is it a source of joy for you? Or is it a source of wrongness? What if you have a different choice? What if it is actually your choice that can change it?  In a recent article featured on CNN.com, a hospice chaplain talks about what people dying say they will regret the most … and it might surprise you and invite you to choose something different with your body, while you’re here with it!

What do people in their final days report regretting the most? The time they spent hating their bodies, abusing it or not appreciating it.

“Either way, the result of the messages is the same: They lived their lives thinking their bodies were something to tolerate at best, something to criticize, to despise, at worst — a problem they could never correct.

Too often, it’s only as a patient realizes that he or she will lose their body that they finally appreciate how truly wonderful it is.

“I am going to miss this body so much,” a different patient, many decades younger, told me.

She held her hands up in the dim light that seeped through the sunshade on the window. She stared at them as though she had never seen them before.”

How much gratitude for your body would you be willing to have today? What if you lived every day from a space of wonderment for the gift that being in a body is?

“It isn’t just health that they wish they had appreciated. It’s the very experience of being in a body, something you likely take for granted until faced with the reality that you won’t have a body soon. No matter what you believe happens after death, be it an afterlife, reincarnation or nothing at all, the fact remains: You will no longer be able to experience this world in this body, ever again.”

If today were the last day you had with your body, what would you choose?

Read the full article here: http://www.cnn.com/2014/10/16/health/dying-regret-body-hate/index.html

3 responses to Is your body a gift or a problem?

  1. 

    I am in my 70s and have at times considered my life and what I have been glad about and what I have regretted. And currently, I try to be kind to myself as well as being kind to others.
    And have found the same–I have regretted times when I have not been kind to myself., when I have sacrificed me or what my body has desired in order to support some higher purpose.
    And, I notice that I celebrate that I have chosen what worked for me and not necessarily what others expected or me..

  2. 

    Beautiful. Touching. True. Thank you SO much, Dain, for this post. Huge Gratitude for you & for the gift that reading this article is for me!

Leave a Reply

